California Revival Knits

I’m really excited to be a part of the blog tour for Stephannie’s new book California Revival Knits Not only do I love everything Cooperative Press is doing these days, but Stephannie is one of the wonderful tech editors who helps make sure my indie patterns are error free by the time they land in knitters hands.

CRK cover

Knowing Stephannie’s eye for detail I expected this book and pattern collection to be beautiful, and it is. It’s full of the complex sorts of designs I love best- twisty cables, fancy colorwork, lace, and beads – every pattern has a little something to make it extra special.

CRK TOC

But The book is written and laid out in such a way as to make these totally approachable. The charts are clean and easy to read, the directions are simple and to the point without being wordy. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend these patterns to someone who wants to try a new technique for the first time!

CRK design process

Stephannie also includes details about the inspiration she found in the California Revival architecture and the tile mosaics that are still being hand made in that area. These sources of inspiration are behind all her designs and give the collection a wonderfully cohesive feeling in spite of the variety of projects and colors involved. As a designer myself I love to get that peek into how others are inspired.

I’m happy to announce that Cooperative Press is letting me give away a copy of California Revival Knits right here! To enter the drawing all you need to do is leave a comment telling me which pattern from the book is your favorite. You can check them out here, or find them all on Ravelry. Make sure the e-mail address you leave is good, since that’s how I’ll contact the winner. You have until noon (EDT) May 9th to enter.

My favorite pattern, ever since the previews came out, are the Peacock Mitts They’re GORGEOUS! Look at the details! They also involve 10 colors, quite a bit of intarsia, duplicate stitch, and beading… So when I needed a little something mindless to knit while I write up some designs I figured, maybe no peacocks. Instead I’ve cast on for a pair of Wrought socks. I desperately need more socks, and these have twisty cables! How could I go wrong?

wrought iron

Mine are knit out of some discontinued colorway of KPPPM from the deep stash. I wanted something fun which will hopefully still show off the cables (it’s sort of working). And while my last pair of socks taught me that I don’t really like 6″ sock cuffs I thought these looked a touch short in the photos (hey, warm sock needs in CA are probably less than those in VT) So I doubled the length of the twisted stitch ribbing before I moved into the wrought iron cables themselves.

And I’ll openly admit I’m knitting these on my US 1.5 needles because they match the yarn better than the bright green US 1′s.

Check out the other stops on the book blog tour!

18 responses to “California Revival Knits

  1. awesome! love the colorway on ur socks. vtknitboy at gmail dot com

  2. They are gorgeous patterns. I liked the Wrought socks and gloves the best.

  3. This is one of those rare books that has *many* patterns I’d like to knit!
    You’re right about the peacock mitts – those are hard to resist.
    Though any of the ‘wroughts’ would be a close second…

  4. I’m totally feeling the wrought iron cardi! Thanks for such an awesome give-away; the book looks awesome.

  5. I’ve been loving the rich colors in the peacock cowl ever since this book came out!

  6. I really like the Quatrefoil Mitts

  7. WOW! Thanks for the screencaps of text pages; that’s one of the most appealing tables of contents I’ve ever seen. Mmm, tiles.

    The Wrought Socks are probably my favourite—they’re the ones I’d cast on first, anyway.

  8. Ohh, I’m in love with the wrought iron cardi! I might have to cast on for that one after my Boyden. :) Thanks for the chance!

  9. I’m in love with the Wrought series, particularly the mitts and socks! Love, I say!

  10. I love the wrought iron collection. So amazing!

  11. dclulu on ravelry

    I love all of the wrought iron patterns, but probably most especially the mitts.

  12. I really like the fringe socks — they look really fun!

  13. I love the Wrought Mitts the best – the socks are a close second, but I’d hate to hide that delicate texture!

  14. The wrought iron cardi is my absolutely fave! But honestly… Steph has such great design style, I could happily knit everything in her book!

  15. It’s a tie between “Tiles” and any of the “Wrought”s!

  16. I love the peacock Stole! I’m hoping i get lucky :)
    Thank you for hosting the giveaway!

  17. I love the wrought mitts! Thanks so much for doing this giveaway!

    brittvicious [at] gmail.com

  18. I love lots of the designs but most of all love the peacock mitts! So delicate and they look really interesting to knit.

Leave a Reply

