Fish stew

I did that thing where I decided it was easier to create a new recipe than follow someone else’s (again). You do understand this is how I got into designing patterns as well, right?

I wanted a non-cream-based stew to use up the white fish in my freezer*. I wanted veggies and a clear broth, and fish. And I didn’t want to stop at the grocery store for clam juice or celery.

Ingredients
3 shallots
1 bulb of garlic (5-8 cloves depending on size)
2Tbsp olive oil
3Tbsp sherry
1 carrot
1 handful fingerling potatoes (probably 1.5 C sliced up)
1 C chicken stock
1 15oz can diced tomatoes
1 6.5oz can whole clams**
1 6.5oz can chopped clams**
2 fillets cheap white fish (feel free to substitute with something nicer ;-)
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp thyme
salt and pepper to taste

fish stew ingredients

Slice the shallots and garlic. Saute in the olive oil 2-4 minutes over medium high heat. Meanwhile grate the carrot and slice the potatoes.
Toss in the sherry. Stir. Toss in the carrots and potatoes. Add the chicken stock and enough water to cover everything. Simmer for 10 minutes.
Drain the cans of tomatoes and clams. Add both, plus the spices.
Nestle the fish into the soup add water if necessary to cover the fish.
Simmer for 10-15 minutes more, or until fish is done and flakes apart as the soup is stirred. Salt and pepper to taste.

fish stew

And yes, I store my leftover soups in mason jars. I’m not trying to be a hipster, they’re just the most leak-proof lunchbox container I can find.

*which, honestly, I’ve decided was cheap, doesn’t cook evenly, and not worth buying again. But I’m not gonna throw it out either.
**the clams were not cheap. We’ve been buying Bar Harbor products since they showed up in our local store and I love them. But then, I’m predispositioned to love small, local-ish, companies…

One response to “Fish stew

  1. Sounds great! I make a fish soup/stew that Thor loves but the flavoring family is a bit different. I saute anchiovies with onion and celery; add on large can of chopped tomatos, broth, halved kalamata olives, chopped fish,fresh bell pepper, kale and parsley. Next time I am going to add chopped clams! Thanks for the suggestion!

Leave a Reply

