Buttons, buttons, buttons

Catamount (and the subtle stripe vest, AND the lace shawl) are all blocking at home right now. I’m very pleased with myself.

And now that the sweater is finished I’m pondering buttons. No, that’s not quite right. I’ve already decided on buttons, but I suspect other people may be pondering them.

I got my buttons from Incomparable Buttons. This isn’t the first sweater I’ve attached their buttons to either and I really love them. They’re nice ceramic buttons, hand made by a small company employing local women in South Africa. Also, they’re entirely machine washable, which is more then I can say for a lot of my sweaters… Also they’re sold in several of my LYSes, so I have a chance to see them in person, which is always nice.

I put these buttons on my tangled yoke cardigan 2 years ago. That’s one of my most-worn favoritest sweaters – which is to say those buttons have been through hell and high water. I smash them against things, bang into stuff, yank on them, get them caught on things, and they haven’t chipped, broken, or shown and signs of wear. They got a little dirty one time when maybe I should have washed my sweater more often… But that’s not really the button’s fault. So, um, I guess what I’m saying is if you’re looking for buttons, see if you can find some in your area!

I picked some stripy ones to go on my stripy sweater (L281, looks like you’ll have to find them in a store, or choose something else)

(The button company didn’t ask me to say any of this, in fact they don’t even know I’m writing this, I really just like their buttons)

Leave a Reply

