purple and green

I’ve been seeing a lot of the purple and green color combination recently. And I got it into my mind to create something of my own. Don’t look at me like I’m crazy, according to Ravelry there are 203 PAGES of projects that come up in the search using those two colors. And there are some really pretty finished objects too, if I do say so myself!

So for my birthday yarn I picked out a shade of green and a shade of purple. I wanted to use Quince and Co’s new yarn, Lark. I’ve never seen it in person, so I had to go by the colors on their website, as well as some photos of stashed yarn on ravelry. I thought I was being pretty careful, since I knew I couldn’t just combine any green with any purple. I got my birthday yarn from my mom this weekend, and immediately knit up a swatch:

wisteriaswatch

Leaving out, for the moment, the insanity that is intarsia cable-work. I’m not sure about the colors. That photo is pretty true to life on my monitor. And I’m just not sure. In some light it looks ok, in other light, not so much. I’m afraid the green is too vibrant. I could be lighter, or darker, but I think it needs to be less brilliant in either direction. Of course the green was meant for the background, so that’s what I have more of. And I’m not sure if there’s a better green available in this yarn anyway. I knew this project would take awhile. But if I have to struggle with yarn colors before I can get started, I may be discouraged before I begin…

Luckily my Elisa sweater is moving along nicely. I knit the cuffs first and put them on hold so I could knit the hem of the body. This way they’ll all match in the browner-greener handspun. I’ll start intermingling the lighter stuff once I get to the body of the sweater. This will be my car project for the drive down to RHINEBECK! Don’t worry, I won’t knit and drive at the same time.

2 responses to “purple and green

  1. FWIW, it doesn’t work for me . . . but then we all know I’m not great with colors.

Leave a Reply

