Sweater – the first

The first sweater has that distinction because I’ve been working on it the longest. “Working on it” loosely meaning it’s been in progress, but it has spent a lot of time in the back of the closet.

argyleinaction

I swear it has looked just like this, for ages. I knit and knit, and it still looks just like this. The pattern is the Argyle Jacket from Twist Collective. Sadly, I’m knitting this just for the finished object. The knitting itself isn’t bad, but it’s not a lot of fun either. The crazy intarsia at the beginning was at least challenging.

hanginout

Now I’m just on the slogging part. I’ve been making up excuses for why this has been such a slog. It’s dense yarn (Knitpicks Telemark has comments on Ravelry stating exactly that. I picked it because this is a COAT I wanted it to be dense) It’s a dense gauge on US 5’s. There are a lot of stitches.

Then I was checking for size 5 circulars the other day and realized I had 2 sets empty. This was a “light dawns over marble head” moment – the coat is on fricken’ size THREE needles. No wonder it’s so dense I can only knit a few rows before my hands get tired.

All that aside, I still love the jacket. I love my tan and blue color combination. And it’s jacket season here, I want to be loving my finished jacket. So I’ve been knitting just a few rows each night before moving on to other projects. I’m a mere 3.5 inches from finished with the body, and I’m really hoping the knitting will get easier after the armhole divide. At least I won’t be working 257 stitches to the row anymore!

argylepreview

I do have one potential problem. The jacket has a turned hem, and the turned hem has increases (it will all beautifully encase the back of the intarsia once finished) but when the directions stated to:
k1, kf&b, knit to other edge, kf&b, k1
I insisted on slipping the first stitch of each row (my own modification, I should have followed directions better!). This means those increasing edges are impossibly tight, and have started causing the fabric to pucker. At the time I thought it’d block out, but I’m no longer convinced. In fact, I’m considering (after testing on a swatch first) trying to sew up the bases of all those increase stitches and actually cutting the slipped stitches in a few places to release the tension. Has anyone ever tried such a thing? Or heard of someone else trying such a thing? I’m thinking it’d be a little bit like steeking – since I’m talking about cutting the stitches along the side of the fabric, that’s kinda like the vertical lines involved in steeking… Right?

Leave a Reply

