autumnal again

Yesterday I got a haircut!

haircut back

Maybe you can’t tell, it’s still pretty long. I cut 8″ off wednesday night, as a donation for Pantene Beautiful Lengths.* Then I went to the stylist and told her that I liked my long hair, I just wanted more style in my hairstyle. She managed to take my vague mumblings and made my hair much more cute, and exactly what I wanted. I’m very pleased! Since I didn’t change my style I’ve taken it upon myself to point out my new haircut to people because they won’t notice otherwise. Call it fishing for complements if you want, I don’t mind!

haircut front
I love how the dividers in our new cubicles are exactly the right height for photos of myself!

Today is so beautiful out I took my new sock in progress out for a walk.

wallflower sock cuff

Don’t laugh, I can knit ribbing and walk at the same time at least as well as those people on their smart phones can type/surf/read and walk at the same time. I know because I saw at least 4 of them out walking too.

*My preferred hair donation charity. Locks of Love only does wigs for permanent hair loss, Pantene does wigs for cancer patients. Also Pantene’s donation program is better funded, and more clear about both their goals and what they can and can not accept. I have nothing serious against Locks of Love. But they are a very small organization frequently overwhelmed by donations they can not use, and there’s a lot of confusion about their mission.

2 responses to “autumnal again

  1. Good to know about locks of love. My husband has been growing his hair for a year now to donate to a cancer/wig charity and just had a vague idea that they were the best one b/c he’s heard them mentioned often. Also if they will take 8inches instead of nine that means 1 less month of living with the crazy bear/mountain man/unibomber dude.

    • So glad I helped! There’s a lot of confusion about Locks of Love, and it’s not that they’re bad, they just have a very specific focus and it’s not cancer related. And then there are all those daytime TV shows doing mass hair donations and generally spreading the misinformation around…

Leave a Reply

