Dunkelipa

I really want to show you all the baking I did over the weekend!

bakingbread

See?! Isn’t that impressive? I’m pretty pleased, and clearly so is Neil!

Last night I finished a new hat, and also The Hunger Games. Knitting the one while reading the other means the two will forever be intertwined in my mind. Seriously, my juno sweater still reminds me of Battlestar Galactica every time I put it on just because I knit both sleeves while watching those first mini-series episodes back-to-back-to-back the whole way through. And it’s not even remotely sci-fi.

dunkelipa

Anyway, I’m pretty pleased with this hat too! The yarn is Brooklyn Tweed’s Shelter, in pumpernickel. I picked up two skeins in Harrisville this summer, and this hat took less then one. I made up the pattern as I went along. I was trying to get Neil to name a batch of beer he brewed Dunkel IPA – because it’s a dark IPA beer, dunkel = dark – it made sense to me anyway. But he didn’t want to, so I’m using the made-up word myself! I really kinda like the notch in the brim. What do you think? I’m hoping Neil likes it too, because I’m thinking this is a good hat for men. It can be worn with the brim up, down, or half up and half down.

foldup folddown foldhalf

I think that makes it versatile, but there’s always the chance he’ll think it makes it silly. Also, taking clear photos of dark hats early in the morning – it’s hard!

Leave a Reply

