12 sweaters in a year

Waaaay back in January I signed up for a project in Ravelry called IntSweMoDo2010 – the International Sweater-a-Month Dodecathon. Yes, I am crazy, but the craziest part is I pulled it off! The rules were simple, 12 finished adult sized tops in 12 months – so a few vests or summer tops make the challenge a little more do-able.

12sweatersmosaic

January: Cambridge Cables February: A little something March: Trout River
April: Hyssop May: Vine Yoke June: Owls
July: ?? August: Catamount September: Subtle Stripe
October: Elisa Novemeber: Orange Pop December: White Clovers

You may notice that 5 of these were the sample sweaters for my own designs*. Designing requires knitting on a tight deadline and that fits in with knitting a sweater a month pretty well. Challenges like the sweater in two weeks issued by Kate Gilbert back in June helped everything along. I gave myself a few advantages: January’s sweater was half done by the 1st of that month and the Something Different top and Subtle Stripe vest were quick. But these were probably offset by knitting hyssop at 7 stitches to the inch and spinning my own yarn for Elisa.

I really enjoyed the challenge. It forced me to stay on task, but only once or twice did I worry about failing. It helps that I knit fast and I knit constantly. I still have a few sweaters in progress (this was supposed to be the year I finished my Autumn Rose fair isle, but that didn’t happen) and I have two sweaters I’m really excited about knitting for 2011 already! But at the same time, I’m looking forward to knitting some more accessories in the next 12 months.

*In fact, I can’t show you July’s sweater yet!

4 responses to “12 sweaters in a year

  1. 12 sweaters in a year, that’s a wonderful feat. I don’t think I’m quite ready for the challenge yet, but I’m all the more admirative of your achievement. The fact that you designed some and spun the yarn for another leaves even more speechless, kudos!

  2. Wowza! I am so impressed with your sweater knitting! I have fallen off the knitting bandwagon a bit in the last six months but I’m trying to scramble back on …

Leave a Reply

