Ha! Garlic Soup!

Everyone’s snowed in and it’s really cold, right? (at least on the east coast) Maybe it’s time for some soup.

We eat a lot of garlic in my house. Neil likes to put on his best mainah* accent and say “HA! Garlic Soup!” All. The. Time. I’m not sure why, but it turns out if you say something to me enough times, I’m going to try and do something about it. In this case I actually made garlic soup, and it came out really well. I just riffed off of cheddar beer soup, so really, how could it have gone wrong?

garlic

Ingredients:
1 small onion – 1/2 C diced
1 bulb garlic (yes the whole thing) 1/4 C minced
1 T butter
1 T flour
1 bottle light colored beer**
2 C milk
1/2lb cheddar cheese – grated
1 t thyme and chives
salt and pepper to taste.

Melt the butter in a sauce pan on medium heat, add the onions and garlic and let them fry in the butter flavoring the oil.
Add the flour and whisk around so it absorbs all the butter. Continue to whisk and allow it to brown.
Add the beer, just a little at a time so it’s absorbed into the butter/flour mix.
Continue whisking, try to keep it from getting lumpy.
Add the milk and spices/herbs and bring the soup to a low simmer. If I owned an immersion blender I’d blend it smooth here, but it wasn’t bad with onion chunks in it.
Whisk in the grated cheese, add any final seasonings and serve!

This made enough for 2 for dinner plus leftovers for lunch for one (in other words, serves 3) We had ours with quick beer bread. Personally I use dark beer in the bread and light beer in the soup.

garlic soup

*mainah, pronounced Maine-ah with that silent R thing they do…

**If your house is anything like mine you buy the Sam Adams Winter Classics especially for the Chocolate Bock. Then you mourn the loss of the Cranberry Lambic, drink the Fezziwig Ale, and Holiday Porter. Then the lagers stare at you from the back of the fridge. Use them in this soup instead of ignoring them forever.

4 responses to “Ha! Garlic Soup!

  1. I have 2 years worth of Cranberry Lambic lingering in my fridge…

  2. We can only get Sam Adams in cases here (Missouri), and there’s never enough of the Chocolate Bock for my husband. I’d get an earful if I “wasted” it in a loaf of bread.
    It’s a pity I didn’t meet DH when I was living in ME or NH. He would have been far happier with the adult beverage availability.

    Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

