Root Cellar vest

Root Cellar is an earthy, comforting vest in the colors of yams, potatoes, beets, and onions. It’s rustic but stylish – just the thing to warm your core on cold winter days.

vest square

I really love this vest, it entered my regular wardrobe rotation the moment the photo shoot was complete. It’s warm, woolly, earthy, pretty much everything I want in my knitwear.

vest buttoned

You can favorite and queue Root Cellar on Ravelry. Or buy it right here if you’re not on Ravelry. The pattern is written in 9 sizes from 29″ to 62″ and works up quickly at 16 sts/22 rows per 4″. As always, thanks for the paypal and automatic downloads go to Ravelry. Tech editing was provided by Stephannie Tallent. The photo shoot was held at Fat Toad Farm and the lovely model is my good friend Calley (and her caprine friend is Flossie the goat)

vest side

The vest is worked in two different yarns. Plymouth Mushishi in their evocatively named “01” colorway gives the browns and beet colors in the vest. Malabrigo Merino Worsted “rich chocolate” colorway adds the burnt orange (hey, I don’t name the colors, clearly). If you’re having trouble finding them both, my LYS Kaleidoscope Yarns has them for sale online!
I also think this vest would be a really great way to show off a single skein of handspun. You only need 180 to 380 yards of the CC colorway, which should be just about perfect.

mood with goats

Brown is rapidly becoming one of my favorite clothing colors. Is that weird?

12 responses to “Root Cellar vest

  1. I love the subtle tones in this beautiful vest. I also love the idea of the vest since it is a perfect layer to add in the winter without bulk on the sleeves.

    Thanks for sharing your process.

  2. Ah, the vest! Finally something my mother wants me to knit for her. The photoshoot captures the colors beautifully, but it can’t show how soft and cozy it is in real life.

    And brown is a perfectly normal color to make the center of your wardrobe.

    • My mother loves all sorts of hand knits. I’m not sure if she really loves hand knits or if it’s that motherly thing where they always like the things we make – no matter what they look like.

  3. I just entered to win this pattern on http://www.knitpurlgurl.com and I am so hoping I win it! I have never knit a vest or sweater before, and this one looks amazing!

  4. Knittingdancer on Ravelry

    I enjoy reading the article about how you came up with the idea of the pattern and the process of designing it. It was very interesting and informative.

  5. Love this vest – looks like something I would actually wear!

  6. I love this vest. I have several I knit for that would wear this. The colors are beautiful and warm.

  7. I love, love, love this vest! My grandmother had a true root cellar, and I remember how cold it was down there even in the summer. It had a dirt floor and she did her washing down there in and old wringer type washer, which I thought was a weird looking contraption as a child. I was afraid of it because it looked like a finger crusher to me!
    But her canned goods were also stored down there, and I always brought up a jar of her peach or blueberry jam and that is what this vest reminds me of. Homemade goodies…

  8. This is such a beautiful vest. I love the nice buttons on it because sometimes the right buttons are the finishing touch to a handknit item. This would be great to wear in the spring or fall when the weather is just a bit cool!

Leave a Reply

