apple pie for breakfast

I’ve heard this recipe called Swedish apple pie – but I’m not sure I’ve ever seen it made by my swedish family. I made one over the weekend to take to a new knitting group. The hostess also said she’d never seen such a pie in her swedish family either. So maybe it’s a misnomer. Anyway, I make it sometimes with less sugar just to eat for breakfast, so that’s what I call it. My favorite way to eat it is to turn it up side down so the apples are on the top, and then melt some cheddar cheese on it. So. Good.

peeling apples

Ingredients
3 apples, peeled cored and sliced
2 eggs
3/4C sugar (maybe 1/2C if you’re making it for breakfast)
4T butter (you could cut this too, but then it’d be dry)
1/2t salt
1.5C flour
1/2C milk
1 1/2t baking powder
cinnamon to taste

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line the bottom of a pie plate with the apple wedges. Sprinkle as much, or as little, cinnamon as you want over them. If you want something sweeter this is really good with some cajeta drizzled over the fruit.

apples and cajeta

Melt the butter. In one bowl mix milk, eggs, and butter together. In another mix the salt, sugar, flour, and baking powder. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones and mix until everything is just blended.

Pour the whole mess into the pie dish, over the apples. It should cover them pretty thoroughly. Bake for 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

pie with cheese

Eat with cheese – seriously, it’s better this way.

7 responses to “apple pie for breakfast

  1. and it was delicious at knitting! yum!

  2. Well, we’ll be eating that shortly. My husband loves this sort of thing.

  3. I have a rather different recipe called Swedish Apple Pie which I got from my aunt, who presumably got it from her mother (your 100% Swedish great-grandmother). Looks very different when baked, however. Where did you get this one?

    • Stranger and stranger! I got the original recipe (Twice!) on index cards from people at my bridal shower – but not from my relatives. I don’t think either of the people have Sweedish family, although I could be wrong. I’ve modified it because I actually wanted less sugar in the crust, and none on the apples (unless I’m adding caramel)

  4. YAY! Apple pie + cheddar cheese= Quintessential VT breakfast, I grew up on this combination.

    I have a recipe almost exactly like this- but mine is called German Apple Cake! The mystery continues… (mine calls for baking in a bundt cake pan with the apples sandwiched in between 2 layers of the batter, but otherwise the same). Just like you, I like reduce the sugar to make it more breakfast-y and I add a tiny pinch of cloves and nutmeg to the batter.

Leave a Reply

