Below Average

That’s really the best way to describe this spring. It’s be the phrase used in our weather reports almost every day for weeks. Even on days like today when the sun is shining the temperatures have been “well below average.” And I really think everyone can agree the constant cloudiness, rain, and sleet is easily described as “below average.”

Having a blog is nice, because it lets me look back. I feel like this has been the worst spring ever, but in retrospect I can see that while last year had some shocking warmth in March, it was followed up by a late April snowstorm which I’d really like to avoid this year.

However in 2009 I was counting woodland flowers just a week from today. If the cold and rain and snow continue they way they’ve started I think those flowers will be underground until May…

I know the old adage about April showers bringing May flowers, but I’m pretty sure those flowers need some sunshine too.

2 responses to “Below Average

  1. I know what you mean. We have had rain almost non-stop for going on two weeks. Definitely below average – I’d rather have it be colder and sunny.

Leave a Reply

