unrelated, and some mittens

This isn’t knitting related, so if that’s what you’re here for, scroll down.

I don’t talk about politics much, but I need to get this off my chest. Yes- killing Bin Laden is a victory for the US, but there are other ways to celebrate victories than partying in the streets. It seems distasteful to me, and a little too similar to people partying in the streets when America is attacked. I’ve been mulling this over, and I think for me it’s a little like killing my own meat birds. Both are necessary for my way of life (I enjoy humanely raised free range meat AND freedom and democracy) But having a party, gloating, or making jokes about either thing seems more than a little uncouth. Didn’t we used to have sombre, respectful celebrations when a battle was won, but the war wasn’t over? What about a little prayer/reflection for everyone who has given their lives in the process or died as a casualty of the fighting? Can’t we celebrate freedom with rejoicing in the death of another?

Ok, off my soap box… I finished a pair of mittens last week, then cleaned up and graded the pattern:
100_1964

And this weekend I had a photo shoot with my friend’s adorable daughter. It’s good to have some photos where the knitted item doesn’t show – just to use as teasers!
what mittens

She was an excellent model and very willing to wear a coat and mittens in spite of it being one of the warmest, sunniest days so far this spring!

Now I get to start my new favorite part – pattern layout! I have plans for this clock/time/hand themed e-book… Big plans!

4 responses to “unrelated, and some mittens

  1. I agree with you – I am thankful that a source of danger and terror has been removed, but I hate that it has to be at the expense of a life, and presumably the sorrow of his family. Necessary, perhaps, but not something to cheer about.

    I love the teasers from your book! I’m excited about this :)

  2. I’m absolutely with you on the bin Laden issue. I don’t post about politics much either, and I’m gratified to find like-minded people expressing this around the events of last night, since my Facebook feed immediately exploded in sentiment more appropriate for an Olympic sporting event in which we were expected to win 244-0. It makes me really uncomfortable. This is more a time for sobriety and reflection to me.

    I’m looking forward to seeing the new patterns! I know it’s more fun to design for girls, but I’m always on the lookout for simple, classic patterns that are good for boys. I’d snap them right up. There was surprisingly little even on Ravelry, though I don’t have perfect search-fu on there yet.

    • I know exactly what you mean about patterns for boys, I have several friends with boys and it’s hard to find things I want to knit for them. This photo shoot was for some mittens which I think are equally good for boys and girls. You’ll have to see what you think once the pattern is out. In the mean time I’m planning a Kira’s hooded vestfor one of my friends which I think will make a nice boy’s vest in the right colors. I also think any of the animal sweatersRachel Erin has would be great for little boys!

Leave a Reply

