Wind and Unwind

Since I’m knitting mitts on the bus, and spending my home time on the computer – what am I doing to unwind at the end of the day?

green

Spinning! This is some of my white montadale dyed with green food dye and vinegar. It’s a super easy process which I use because it’s food safe and so I don’t have to have dedicated dying equipment.

When the green is done I’m going to ply it with this multicolor montadale I finished up awhile ago.

multicolored 1

Why yes, that IS a lot of fiber on a very small spindle. By the time I got 2/3’s of the way through I knew I was going to try and pack it all on there. The last bit was a struggle – but I did it! Hopefully each colorway is about 2oz (I need a real scale, so I can’t give exact numbers) Once plied I want to spin up a little white and do some crazy-bright-colored socks with white toes and heels. I’ve never knit handspun socks, so I think it’s time.

someday socks

Leave a Reply

