Drum carder!

Amy left me her drum carder on Friday. I’ve been having lots of fun with it. I carded some of my ridiculously soft romney (somewhere from 2-4 ounces of it) with some gorgeous cranberry kid mohair (2 ounces) I picked up on farm tour weekend. Then I added a similar amount of white montadale. I got 6 batts, I’m guessing they’re about 1 or 2 ounces each:

mohair batts
(sorry this photo came out blurry, but if I make it small and you squint, I’m sure you can see the awesomeness!)

I blended some of the romney and montadale with a little (1 ounce) leftover into the whirled fiber that was a green/blue/purple/brown colorway

itw and naturals

But the most fun came from my rainbow fiber blending experiment. I had 3-4 ounces of montadale which I dyed in vibrant shades (food coloring dyes are ALWAYS vibrant) of red, orange, yellow, green, and blue. I added some purple in a different (but similar) roving (which I also got from Amy – clearly she’s enabling me)

fiber mosaic

These batts are what happens when I’m turned loose with a drum carder and a full spectrum of colors (plus white and brown) I’m pretty pleased with this assortment, although each batt is only 1-2 ounces so who knows what’ll happen with them once their spun up.

Speaking of spinning I’m doing the Tour de Fleece next month. This is where spinners set goals and spin every day – theoretically while watching bikers spin in the Tour de France. Since I’ve NEVER watch the real tour I’m clearly just in this for the camaraderie and the reason to try and spin every day. If you’re on Ravelry the group is here.

Leave a Reply

