raspberry cherry sage jam

A friend brought over some cherries. Neil and I picked raspberries from the front yard. I was looking at these in the fridge and thought Hmmm– jam! And I like to put other flavors in my jam, so I asked the internet, and the internet said sage goes with cherries.

raspberrycherrysage

Ingredients
2 cups chopped, pitted cherries
3 cups raspberries
0 or 12 sage leaves* minced small
3T lemon juice
1 packet pectin
5 cups sugar

Process
I don’t have a cherry pitter – but I got pretty good, pretty quickly, at chopping them in half and pulling out the pits. I like my jam chunky, so I didn’t chop them any more, but you could if you want it more smooth.

Put the cherries, raspberries, sage, and lemon juice in a sauce pot. Put them on medium heat until the raspberries liquify and the cherries get soft. Add the pectin and turn up the heat. Bring it to boiling while stirring constantly.

Add the sugar and bring it back to a boil continuing to stir. Boil hard for 1 minute (stir stir stir).
Skim the foam off the top**. Ladle into half-pint jars leaving 1/4″ headspace. Process in a boiling water bath canner for 5 minutes. Allow to cool, store any leftover dribbles (and jars which don’t seal) in the fridge.

*I used 6. I can just baaarely taste the sage. I’d either up it to 12 or skip them entirely, depending on how unique you’re feeling.
**jam directions always say this – I think it’s a waste of jam and never do it. The foam doesn’t seem to affect the canning, setting, or flavor- just the look.

2 responses to “raspberry cherry sage jam

  1. Were they sour cherries or sweet cherries? I missed cherry season here, which is sad, but I can’t can this year anyway, so maybe it’s for the best that I don’t have a freezer full of cherries and only a month to use them in.

Leave a Reply

