U2 socks

If you’re like me you’re kinda sad that you can’t make it to Sock Summit.  But I’m playing along from home this year! Tangled has just released their summer issue and it’s full of sock patterns, including my U2 socks:

Apparently this year’s summit has an 80’s theme, so that’s where the pattern names come from. When they asked me for suggestions I figured you couldn’t find a more Irish band than U2, and I couldn’t come up with a Scottish 80’s band with enough name recognition (I tried)

You can also favorite and queue U2 on Ravelry.

cabled feet 2

These socks knit up very quickly because they’re worked in Beaverslide’s Sport Sock yarn. It’s a great merino yarn with just enough mohair for durability (but no halo)

cabled feet

The cables are all charted, so you’ll need to be able to read charts. I also highly recommend learning to cable without a cable needle (but I recommend that for many of my patterns…)

Finally, Tangled has a way for you to play along from home too! From July 28 – August 14 you can take $1 off any of their summer patterns using the code SOCKSUMMIT11

Enjoy!

6 responses to “U2 socks

  1. ooh I like these! very nice!!!!

  2. Boy – I favorited these faster than a hot potato – I LOVE them!!

    Who was the Scottish band that always wore the loud plaid clothes? I’m having a senior moment. (obviously not very recognizable if I cannot remember their name!).

  3. Oh, Becky, these are GORGEOUS. Like I definitely gasped when I looked at the first picture :) These are going on my list!

Leave a Reply

