Corny

Last night for dinner I had my first three ears of Ashworth corn.

It. Was. AMAZING.

It tasted corn-y. As if all the other corn on the market were just watered down a bit. The flavor was nutty, rich, with just a hint of sweetness. That’s right, in spite of the intensity of the flavor it was less sweet than most corn (I’ve been ignoring the super-sweet stuff for years) The best example I can think of is the difference between store-bought eggs and day old fresh eggs from completely free range chickens.

I don’t think I’m ever going back*.

Ashworth is an open pollinating variety, not a more modern hybrid. And yes these older varieties have a lot more starch, and don’t keep once picked for very long. Last night I actually started the water boiling before I went to pick the corn. Tonight I’m planning a taste test where I pick some, start the water, pick the rest and then compare to see how much of a difference it makes.

But this variety it still matures in plenty of time for a Vermont garden. The ears are smaller than hybrids, I’d say 7 or maybe 8″ long. But the plants can have 2 or even 3 ears each.

*ok, that’s a lie. I’ll still happily take the CSA corn, even if it isn’t quite as tasty.

Leave a Reply

