Red cabbage coleslaw

I knew I wanted to bring coleslaw to knitting group for the pot luck.* But I wanted a fancier than the normal cabbage and mayo recipe. I make a pretty nice coleslaw with apples, carrots, and raisins. However I wanted something new so I checked the internet.

Fifteen minutes later I was appalled at the lack of creative recipes available! So, here’s mine:

coleslaw ing

Red Cabbage Coleslaw**

Ingredients
1 medium red cabbage – chopped approx 6 cups
2 small apples – chopped approx 1.5 cups
1 medium carrot – grated approx 1/2 cup
3 small beets – diced approx 1/4 cup
1/2 red onion – diced approx 1/4 cup
1/2 cup raisins
Dressing:
1 cup sour cream
3/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 T oregon bay seasoning (includes celery seed, bay leaf, mustard, ginger, chilies)
1 T honey dijon mustard
1 T worchester sauce
1 T balsamic vinegar
1 t pepper
1 t salt
1/2 t garlic powder
1/2 t onion powder

The chopping is, of course, the most time consuming part. So do all of that. I like my slaw chunky, so I just chop the cabbage to 1/2-1/4 inch pieces, you could chop more finely if you wanted. But then I’d chop the apple more finely too. 3 small beets are better than 1 large one because they’re more tender than the larger ones. You could shred them like the carrots, but that’d be EVEN MORE MESSY.

coleslaw chopping

Toss all the salad ingredients once chopped.
Mix the dressing next. I change up the flavors slightly each time. Instead of sour cream you could use plain yogurt. I used cottage cheese once which was tasty, although it looked kinda funny. I suppose you could you mayo, but I like the sour cream flavor better. If you can’t get onion or garlic powder the salt versions are ok, but then you should leave out the plain salt.
Once the dressing is thoroughly mixed pour it over the salad, toss well, and refrigerate for at least an hour.

This makes about 9 cups of VERY PINK salad. The cabbage and the beets both bleed into the dressing, which is pretty dark from the balsamic vinegar to begin with. But it’s so tasty! Good thing too, since I have a lot in my fridge right now…

coleslaw finished

*but after all this I forgot. At least I still got a good blog post out of the process…

** just as good with green cabbage, but you’ll want to leave out the beets too…

2 responses to “Red cabbage coleslaw

  1. Pretty! Probably delicious too :)

Leave a Reply

