a little celtic shawlette

I have a new design to share with you all today! Introducing Kathryn Margaret:

KM4

After my sister died I knew I wanted to honor her with my own craft and name a pattern in her memory. Since she was always fiercely proud of her scottish heritage I thought she’d really appreciate this pattern (even if she was never the sort to wear shawls).

The inspiration came quite some time ago, when I asked myself if I could design a crescent shawl with cables that follow the bottom edge. It took quite a bit of tweaking to get right – and some short row cable wedges – but they’re not any harder than short rows in socks or sweaters (honest, I swear).

KM2

When I started submitting this idea it had several close calls, acceptances with terms I wouldn’t agree to, requests for me to submit again… In the end I decided I was going to have to Do It Myself. I liked the idea enough to see it all the way through, I hope you like it too. You can find the pattern and all the details on my site or on Ravelry.

I’ve been wearing this shawl two different ways. One is as a glorious, snuggly, large scarf:

shawlette as a scarf

And the other is as a cute little shawl to keep the draft off at work:

shawlette in the office

If you want to make this as a full sized shawl adding length, width, or both is very simple. You can work more repeats of the cable chart for a longer shawl, and simply make sure the short rows are centered around the marker placement when you start the body. To make the shawl deeper you could work the body short rows every 2nd stitch instead of every 3rd.

Edit: I don’t usually edit my posts, but the lack of clear “normal outfit” shots was bothering me. So I took a few!
KM tips KM scarf KM all wrapped up

4 responses to “a little celtic shawlette

  1. It came out beautifully, so I’m glad you stuck with it. A great tribute to your sister too!

  2. It’s beautiful! What a cheery colour, too :)

    By the way, I thought you would like to hear this… I wore my “White Clovers” sweater to school yesterday, and got so many compliments on it! One friend said it was beautiful and he thought it looked “really cozy”, and when I walked into rehearsal my opera teacher said “Did you make that?” and then “do you take commissions?” (She liked the Morningtide mitts, too.)

  3. Beautiful pattern!

Leave a Reply

