Incarnate

Harper Collins sent me TWO advanced reader edition books to review. This second one is special: it’s Incarnate!

Incarnate cover

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

And it’s special to me because I have been reading Jodi’s blog since before she got her agent or even came up with this amazing book. I absolutely loved this book, and I’m not just saying that because I feel like I’ve been waiting for it FOREVER.

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.
Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are suspicious and afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?
Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies–human and creature alike–let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

peanut and incarnate

Every time I try to come up with good-book-reviewer-educated-and-thoughtful kinds of things to say on this book I just draw a blank (because it’s that good). Jodi has done an amazing job. The world she gives us is beautiful, dangerous, and feel so REAL. The people are good and bad. I have characters I love and those I hate but it’s not just black and white. Even the bad people clearly have reasons for being the way they are. These characters have depth.

He played a few notes on the piano and hmm-ed. “Did you have friends?”
“I’ve read about them, but I don’t believe they exist.”
“Your cynicism is amazing.”
“Even if other children had visited Purple Rose Cottage, children aren’t like me. They wouldn’t have wanted to do the things I did. They were waiting until they were big enough to survive on their own to get back to their lives. Not explore the forest and collect shiny rocks, or read books about great discoveries and accomplishments. They were there. We’d have had nothing in common.”
“I think you and I are friends.”
“Nosouls don’t get friends. Neither do butterflies. Don’t you know?”

This is a book about being the new girl, but being a new girl in a society where no one has ever had to be new before. But it’s also about more than just Ana’s story. It’s also about how this happened, how her society is reacting to her, and what’s going to happen to them all now. The only thing I don’t like is that I have to wait another whole year to find out what happens next.

Incarnate is set to be release January 31st. But I’m giving someone else a chance to read this advanced edition before the book is released! Please leave a comment on this blog post to be entered to win. To prove you’re not a spam-bot just answer this one question: Of the two creatures that attack the city of Heart are you on team Sylph or team Dragon*? You have until next wednesday noon (EDT – my time) to enter, at which point I’ll pick a winner. This is only open to people in the US, sorry.

*Sylph are shadowy burning air creatures. Dragons are, well, dragons. Pick your team based on whichever you think is scarier, could do more damage, um, which you think you could beat in a fight – whatever you like!

10 responses to “Incarnate

  1. I’m going to pick team dragon since I don’t know what a sylph is. I’ve always had a fondness for dragon since the Dragon Riders of Pern series…

  2. Dragons are awesome, but air elementals are totally more up my alley. Team Sylph all the way!

  3. I’ll say, Dragons, for my boys–who are Dragons. But I also want to say… Me, me. Pick me! :) in any case, I’ll make sure to get my hands on a copy of this glorious sounding book. All the best

  4. I’ll say Dragons too , just because I know about them, so they seem scarier. But sounds like an interesting read!

  5. I’d go for team slyph simply because I’m sure it’s harder to hurt an air elemental that wields fire than it is a physical being.

  6. I’d have to go with Sylph- it’s awfully hard to hurt a creature of air and shadow, even if you do manage to somehow douse its flames. Plus? They’re frickin’ sweet. Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    Cheers~
    Dot
    requiemofrain (at) hotmail (dot) com

  7. I’ve been dying to read this book! Team Dragon just because I’ve always been a big dragon fan :).

  8. I have a fondness for dragons (there’s one in the novel I’m working on!), so I’d have to say Team Dragon. I’d love to get a chance to read this book! Sounds fascinating :-)

  9. I’d go with a Dragon. ‘Cause I read in an interview how she described them, and they seem fierce and sleek. :3

  10. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book! I will go with team dragon, I’ve always had a love for dragons.

Leave a Reply

