steeking

I started my version of the Plum Frost sweater AGES ago.* It was ready to cut the steek back in November. But I didn’t get around to it until December. Yup, and I’m only just now getting around to posting the photos…

steeking1

I didn’t even reinforce this steek. The yarn is Harrisville Designs, a true 100% shetland wool. I figured it ought to be sticky enough for a true steek. Somehow this is the knitting equivalent of rock climbing without a rope.

steeking2

steeking3

But my delay wasn’t even really a matter of working up the nerve (ok, maybe a little) it was mostly finding the time. I knew that after steeking I wanted to be able to sit down and work the button bands and finishing right away. I needed an empty weekend to make that happen…

I moved the start/end of round so that it ran up the center of the steek. that way I wouldn’t have to deal with all these pesky ends, just trim them off and fold them under along with the cut edge of the fabric:

steeking4

I’m so glad I thought that one through ahead of time. Or this sweater might still be waiting to be finished. The button band was simple and easy to work. I only did two foundation rows for the tubular cast off. And you know what? It worked great, possibly even stretchier than the 4 row cast off on the neckband. Although I don’t know if that has anything to do with the foundation rows, or with how much attention I paid to the kitchener’s stitch at the end.

steeking5

Look at how smooth and still-raveled the cut edge of the fabric is, even after picking up stitches just three columns away from the steek, and knitting that whole button band.

steeking6

From there it was just a matter of closing the underarms and blocking the button band…

*ok, last august according to my Ravelry entry.

6 responses to “steeking

  1. Let’s be honest, we all know my knitting skills are non-existent, however seeing you take scissors to that sweater made me tear up! Glad it worked out, but then again you are so talented you would be able to fix it or salvage it!

    • Your faith in me is impressive! But the thing about steeking is it’s one of those things you really can’t salvage if it goes wrong… Once the yarn is cut you can’t piece it back together…

  2. Beautiful sweater and awesome steek post! The natural colors with that bit of purple and red are lovely together.

  3. I don’t know what any of this means but I’m glad it worked. . . .

  4. Very cool steeking! I am yet to be brave enough to do this, although my recent experiences with knitting fair isle flat are enough to make me consider it for the next thing I do!!

    • It’s really not so hard. The key is to cut in a very VERY straight line. But you can just follow the little track between the stitches. If you’re not working with shetland you want to reinforce the steek first, but there are plenty of instructions for that available online!

Leave a Reply

