Buttons!

As I mentioned, I’m one sleeve, a collar, and button band away from being finished with my Boyden cardi. Usually at this point I’ve already picked out buttons* or at least I know exactly what I’m looking for in a set of buttons.

But not this time. For this sweater I have no idea what kind of buttons I want. And buttons can really make a sweater pop – like the orange ones on the blue Evendim from Twist Collective, or the row of tiny little buttons on Iolanthe.

So I’m looking for suggestions! I’m pretty sure I want medium sized buttons, something around 3/4 to 1 inch. I don’t want high contrast, but I don’t even know if I want them colored, brown, white? Or what material: pewter, clay, plastic, glass?? I think I need at least 5, but 7 would be better, and even 9 might not be bad.

Last night I rummaged through my button collection. These ones (from a button jar I picked up at a yard sale) are my favorites – of course I only have two:

vintage buttons clay buttons

The next ones are the right size and I have 7! But what you can’t see in this photo is that the gold swirl on them is a bit too shiny.

Shininess is the problem with these mother of pearl buttons from my button jar as well:

mother of pearl buttons leaf buttons

And while I really like the leaf imprint buttons they’re only half an inch which I’m afraid is too small. It might be ok if I had 9, but I only have these 5.

So all that remains in my stash are these horn buttons. They’re a good size, and I like the color. But I’m still not sure if 5 buttons is enough.

horn buttons

Do you put this kind of thought into buttons? Where do you like to find them? Got any good online sources you can recommend?

*Sometimes I pick out buttons before I pick out yarn…

8 responses to “Buttons!

  1. I agonize over buttons too. I like the Beach Buttons from Judy at Ball and Skein, but I’m not sure the colors would work for this project. You might want to look at Wooden Treasures – http://www.etsy.com/shop/WoodenTreasures
    I’ve never used them but have admired them for a while. Maybe I should just pick out some buttons and then figure out a sweater.

    Good luck!

    • Oddly I’ve been eyeing wooden buttons as well, but from OruAka, I love the variety of colors and patterns available!

      I frequently pick buttons first, then figure out the sweater. Hence my collection of sweater quantity buttons…

  2. I spent hours searching for huge buttons for owl eyes for a hat. Ebay has buttons, Button Boutique (online store), or just google “buttons “. There are stacking buttons…in sets of 2 or three…and they come in awesome colors and patterns. Joanne.com has a HUGE selection, also. I never did find any that were large enough for the owl eyes, so I am going to crochet the circles (the eyeballs) and use buttons for the middles ( iris and/or pupils).

  3. A while back I got some wooden buttons which were cross sections of branches – from etsy – would that kind of thing go well?

  4. Of the ones you posted….I really like the leaf buttons! ….and I always have a hard time choosing just the right buttons also!

  5. Just to let you know I’ve passed you the Versatile Blogger award. I hope you don’t mind.

Leave a Reply

