Spring already?!

I think you’d have to be hiding under a rock* to have missed the news that this winter’s weather has been really weird. Weird weather in VT, weird weather in the UK. Weird weather everywhere! Less than a month ago I was just, finally, celebrating the arrival of winter.

crocuses

And suddenly, it’s spring. Last year at this time, my chickens were only sort of braving the snow. Then standing around in the muddy driveway looking grumpy. This year, they’ve been going outside almost all winter.

happy hens

Last year at the end of March I made a mental note not to start seeds until April. This weekend it’s supposed to be in the 60’s and 70’s. I’m going to pick spinach, plant broccoli, peas, and lettuce, and maybe go canoeing.

spring spinach

I think we broke the planet. Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad to start my garden early. But when the poison ivy starts taking over the woods (we don’t have much, usually the winters are too cold) we’re all gonna be sad…

*no, wait, then you’d be really aware of the weather. Um, hiding in an underground bunker, how’s that?

2 responses to “Spring already?!

  1. I know- it’s supposed to get to 85 here today!

Leave a Reply

