early spring gardening

Last night it was chilly, but brilliantly sunny, and I couldn’t wait any longer.

early spring gardening

I put a sweater on over my sweater along with some fingerless mitts – and I worked in my garden. I didn’t want to disturb any slumbering perennials. But I realized I’m perfectly happy disturbing those little grass tufts. Like the other perennials they’re dormant and weak, so it’s a perfect time to rip them out, right?

I didn’t use the hoe or rake much, mostly just dug in with my hands. I picked roots and stems out of the cold earth until I couldn’t feel my fingers.

The dogs got some (closely guarded) time to roam the yard too. They seemed happy, and no one has challenged the fence, yet…

Leave a Reply

