Slice of life

I went off to a work conference the first three days of this week, and I’m really low energy by now.

It was hard to leave, I’d just planted my garden on Sunday, and Reggie got into a major tussle with a porcupine that afternoon. Without exaggeration I can say we lost count of the quills we pulled from his face. I’m guessing somewhere between 30 and 50? Including quills from the roof of his mouth, his gum line, under his tongue, and all up the right side of his face almost to his eye. I kinda wonder what the porcupine looked like? Was it bald after this incident?? Reggie was down-right stoic during the process. He let us pull quills from inside his mouth without snapping, snarling, and I swear once he’d calmed down from the initial incident he was careful about holding his head still so we could try and grab those little suckers with the pliers.

Neil is a competent, caring, careful guy. He’s totally able to keep an eye on Reggie, water my seedlings, and take care of the house while I’m gone. I still really really hated leaving him with all that to watch over!

But I did knit a sock and a half while I was gone! Sadly for you, I have no pictures (yet) It’s Plymouth Happy Feet yarn in a lovely orangey-brown. I worked ribbed cuffs with little faux cables every 4th row. They’re easy enough I can knit under the table, but pretty enough I can focus on the plane.

But sadly I didn’t finish the pair, so now they’re in the unfinished sock pile. That pile is up to 4 pairs! My wrought iron socks, some stripy socks for a design*, and those sad wallflower socks – the ones from my LAST conference knitting where I ran out of both colors of yarn just before the toe of the second sock…

And we’re Fenway bound**! We going to see a baseball game this weekend with my parents. I’m very excited, and have been planning my car and baseball knitting. Sadly no socks are included…

*probably out this fall at this point

**This time of year I’m always crazy busy. I loose track of entire weeks in May.

2 responses to “Slice of life

  1. Poor Reggie. (I’ve always wondered what a porcupine looked like after the quills are gone. And how long does it take for them to grow back?)
    Enjoy the ballgame!

  2. Poor Reggie! That sounds painful :(

    The problem with living alone (or, well, not with relatives anyway) is that you are the only one who drives places. Which means no car knitting. I hope you get lots of yours done, though!

Leave a Reply

