Magical Summer Jelly

On my way home from TNNA I stopped and visited some really good friends who live in Buffalo. They helped me find tires to replace my blown out one, that’s how you know they’re really good friends*.

Luckily finding tires did not take all day. So, we made jelly! Awesome fancy jelly that my friend thought up. This could get confusing: see this recipe? It’s hers, she’s just letting me share it with you.

beckys kitchen

This is Becky’s Jelly, not mine. Yeah, we’re both Beckys. Wanna make something of it?

Anyway! Magical Summer jelly is truly a rose petal champagne jelly. Becky has yellow climbing roses with the scent of champagne on their petals. They’re the inspiration for this. This jelly is the grown up, elegant version of the crazy pink rose petal jam I made last year. As always you want to pick roses that aren’t treated with herbicides. The stronger the scent the stronger the flavor. I think you could use pink or red roses here, but they’d change the color of the final jelly.

rose petals

Ingredients
1 C rose petals
3 whole cloves
1 bottle champagne
1 C water
2 T lemon juice
1 packet of pectin
4 C sugar

Notes: Prepare your jars ahead of time! I recommend Home Canning if you’re a little fuzzy on the details of canning. This made 5.5 pints 5 half-pints plus a 4oz jar of jelly**, 5 big jars and a little one. As with all jellies it’ll start to foam when you add the sugar. Be sure to use a pot much bigger than you think you’ll need…

Start by combining the champagne and the water. Bring it just up to a boil.
Remove from the heat and add the rose petals and the whole cloves. (If I were doing this again I’d bruise the cloves to release more oil)
Steep for 10 minutes.
Strain the rose petals and cloves from the liquid.
Add the lemon juice and pectin and place over high heat. Bring to a boil.
Boil hard for 1 minute.
Add the sugar, stirring constantly. Bring the mixture back to a boil and boil hard for 2 minutes. (stir stir stir!!)
Quick now, ladle the liquid jelly into the jars leaving a 1/4″ of head space. Add your lids and rings and process in a boiling water bath canner for 10 minutes.

magical summer jelly

The only thing we could think of to make this jelly MORE magical would be adding edible gold leaf. If you do that, I wanna see pictures!

*You know the saying about friends help you move and good friends help you move bodies? Going to junkyards to dig through piles of used tires looking for ones in the correct size is WAY closer to the moving bodies side of the scale.
**I’m no good at remembering things in my brain. This is why I write stuff down, and have friends who keep tabs on me!

3 responses to “Magical Summer Jelly

  1. rebecca francisco

    This is the other Becky. I love this post, and beautiful pictures! Just one note: it made 5 half pints and one 1/4 pint jar full.

  2. Could this be made without the champagne?

Leave a Reply

