everybody’s doin’ it

Have you notice the profusion of square needles recently?! It seemed like every other needle maker at TNNA had a square variety to try out. And you know what? I think I like them.

cubic needles

Yesterday I did a lot of knitting (do you have any idea how fast the middle of July is sneaking up on me?! Ahhh!!!) And I needed to go up a size as I started some colorwork. So I switched to these Cubics from Knitter’s Pride; they’re rosewood, 32″ fixed length, circulars*. The wood is smooth and polished. I’d say softer than the multicolored laminate wood needles, but shinier than Brittany Birches. I think it’s a good balance. the tips are pretty pointy for wooden needles too. I’m not saying I’d try any crazy p3togtbl’s with these guys, but for basic maneuvers I’m quite happy.

cubic tips

The joins are smooth too, which is key. Once I managed to crack a join on some circular needles (not this brand, and it was totally operator error) and Every. Single. Stitch. snagged on its way over that crack. It was a hard lesson to learn but now I really appreciate a smooth join. The cable is very soft and flexible. It doesn’t seem to hold any coil at all even immediately out of the package for the first time.

And I got the same gauge as on round needles – on my first try and everything! But I’m weird like that. I still should say that you always swatch first (do as I say, not as I do…) These are definitely some quality needles. I was going to say I didn’t know where to get more, but according to their site they’re in every one of my LYS’s! Nifty! (I really should pay more attention to the notions wall)

*I got these as a free sample, but my opinions are 100% my own. I wouldn’t tell you about something if I didn’t love using it myself.

2 responses to “everybody’s doin’ it

  1. I really want to try a pair of those. I’m glad you’re enjoying them!

  2. I’ve never even heard of square needles. How interesting! Maybe next time I need a pair I’ll give these a try…

Leave a Reply

