Hyssop re-release

I’m excited to announce that (after quite a break) my Hyssop pattern is again available to the public! It’s been on Ravelry for awhile, but in case you want to favorite or queue it, here’s the link.

hyssop main

Hyssop is a unique, feminine little top I designed for Sanguine Gryphon back when they released their first line of patterns. However when they split and became two companies all the patterns reverted back to the designer’s control.

While the original yarn is long gone there are plenty of light fingering yarns with good drape. I think this top would be beautiful in Knit Pick’s Gloss yarn, or you could try The Woolen Rabbit’s Pandora, which is exactly the same blend as the original yarn.

This is one of the tricky things about publishing patterns through other companies. What happens if that company goes away? Who controls the rights to publish the pattern? I’m very careful to only publish designs with companies where the answer to that question is spelled out in advance. So at least I never lose my designs entirely.

hyssop sleeve detail

Of course that doesn’t mean it’s easy when this happens. The lovely folks at SG offer to sell me the rights to use their photos. But since I have my own style and my own way of doing things I decided to do this the hard way and re-take the photos. Luckily I still had the original samples (designers don’t always retain their samples)

hyssop through the arch

Sadly, SG closed their doors last winter. And winter wasn’t really the right season for these garments. So I waited, and waited, and waited some more. Earlier this summer I found a warm sunny day and asked my neighbors if I could use their garden for a photo shoot. I took pictures for this top, and the skirt I also had published through SG*.

hyssop detail

But even just re-taking the photos wasn’t the end. I was lucky to have the rights to the tech-edited version of this pattern (again, not something that’s given in every contract) but I needed to re-do the layout so it fits with all my other patterns.

Hyssop preview

You may have noticed something by this point: re-releasing a pattern is almost as much work as the initial release! Other than the math and knitting all that pattern work needs to be done all over again.

hyssop back view

But I’ve finally done it! And in time for the last month of summer. Since this top is inspired by the short, sweet, intense days that are summer in Vermont I’m offering a quick sale. This pattern is normally $7, but between now and the end of the day you can purchase this pattern for $5. Just enter the code “sweetsummer” when you check out for your $2 off.

(This discount is only applicable to Hyssop, and will end at midnight EDT.)

*Still on hold, I still need to do all the pattern layout for it.

4 responses to “Hyssop re-release

  1. It looks great! Sorry about all of the problems associated with the re-release.

    • They’re not so much problems as known hurtles. I can really understand why sometimes patterns become permanently unavailable. I mean, it’s a lot of work even when the rights are very clear. I can only imagine how hard it’d be if the rights were fuzzy after the other business closed…

  2. Congratulations! Beautiful pattern.

  3. I just bought it! I’ve been eyeing this pattern for a while and I’m so glad it’s available again (and the discount code helped a lot :D ) Can’t wait to get my queue down so I can start it!

Leave a Reply

