new challenge

I have a new challenge. It’s a Nikon D60 with the standard 18-55mm lens and a 70-300mm tele-macro lens (meaning it does far away shots AND macro shots)

nikon

It belongs to my friend Calley. But she’s generously loaned it to me for the next two weeks. Right now I’m at the stage where I barely understand all the displays and I should probably just be shooting in auto mode, except the whole point here is I want to learn more details!

So far, I’ve managed some pretty fun depth of field shots:

glads and coneflowers
coneflowers and glads

But I’m still struggling with the aperture and shutter speed settings. I mean I KNOW what those things are supposed to do. But the effects of changing the settings are much more subtle than making the same changes on my fancy point and shoot. Again that’s the whole POINT of playing with a DLSR, but still, the learning curve is steep.

And that’s not even touching on the new things I need to learn now that I’m importing camera RAW files into photo shop instead of the silly little jpgs from my own camera…

4 responses to “new challenge

  1. Nice. This looks like a canna lily, the subject I picked yesterday for my daily post.

  2. Oooh. I’d really like to buy a new camera, and would love to play with a couple different models before I buy. Let us know what you think of this one!

Leave a Reply

