this and that

I sent out separate e-mails to the volunteers who wanted to test knit, and those looking to test cook. It turns out there was a lot of overlap and several of them asked why.

Good question, after all, we’re the ones who thought there’d be overlap in the first place. Oops.

My squash plants all succumbed to beetles this summer. I heard a gardening expert comment that they were so hard to get rid of because they over winter in the soil. So unless you wanted to burn them out there was little you could do.

It turns out that after watching my squash vines wither and die the concept of burning them out was VERY appealing. So we had a little garden bonfire last night.

We’re only halfway through October, and the notch over mount Mansfield has already gotten it’s first snow!

a dusting of snow

Not very much snow, but still a sign of things to come.

I’m going to Rhinebeck next weekend! If you see me there please come say hello! I’m driving down with friends, so there will be extra knitting time.

But I don’t have a project ready to go. That’s right, a whole book’s worth of knitting and no project ready to go next, argh!

3 responses to “this and that

  1. I didn’t receive a test knit email but would love to! Either knit or cook. Thanks! Judith

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Have a great time at Rhinebeck!!
    We had some squash bugs, but they didn’t do any real damage. Hopefully they won’t be worse next year. I’ll be interested to hear how your bonfire worked.

    Safe travels!

    • I also have an organic spray that’s supposed to be good for squash bugs and asparagus beetles. I’m sure I’ll report on it too, once I’ve had a chance to try it.

      I’ve had squash bugs for a few years now but I’ve always been able to keep on top of them just by squishing them and removing their eggs. Not sure what happened this year. That’s why I’m blaming the lack of winter…

Leave a Reply

