other crafts

Neil and I tackled a different kind of craft project last weekend.

power saw

one involving slightly more lumber and 100% more power tools than you might see amid my other ramblings.

We needed a new box for storing our firewood. The majority of it gets stacked on the porch. But having to go outside every time we need to put another log on the fire gets old fast. Especially in the really cold spells when NOTHING makes us want to go outside except double dares and the need for more firewood.

new drill

Also, this was an excellent chance for Neil to play with his birthday present – an new cordless drill!

drilling

We’re not the best wood workers ever. Wait, I take that back. I’m an inexperienced wood worker, and Neil’s not so much a fan of the power saws. The man can do amazing things with dove tail joints and chisels (woodworking is a class they teach at his college)

But for a box that’s going to take the abuse of 4 cords of fire wood passing through on the way to the stove what we really wanted was something durable and rustic.

becky in a box

Also large. This is a very large box.

The comparisons to my first sweater are startlingly easy to draw. The materials are solid and rustic. Good quality but not the fanciest out there (brown sheep lamb’s pride and knotty NH white pine respectively) The edges aren’t straight (in either case). I got exactly what I wanted, but I can see plenty of places for improvement. I know just enough to try my best, but don’t have quite all the right tools. I don’t own a square, I was marking square edges on the lumber with a book. I didn’t own a yarn needle when I seamed my first sweater.

The major difference is I don’t see myself building enough boxes to really learn the fine details of the trade. But that’s just me. Neil’s dreaming of a wood shop in the basement now…

One response to “other crafts

  1. That is a really big box. (A useful box to put things in and take them out again?)

Leave a Reply

