soup and bread

Soup and bread (with any luck) is going to become a regular Thursday feature here. See, I’m hoping it’ll become a regular feature in my Wednesdays*.

Once a week (wednesdays) Neil’s going to school a few hours from here. So that means wednesdays are always my night to cook. And I’m trying to cook things that will still be tasty when he gets home at 9:30.

That’s where soup and bread come in. They’re always tasty a few hours later. They can frequently be made that morning or a day in advance. And even when they’re made the same night it’s not a lot of prep work – just a lot of simmering and baking. And I’ve got news for you. Things can simmer and bake while I’m walking the dogs, checking on the chickens, feeding the kitties… I’m sure there will be repeats, and nights where I push the boundaries (corned beef cooked in the crock pot – soup or not?) If something is unique or special I’ll include a recipe. For instance:

Carrot Ginger soup

Ingredients
2lbs carrots
plenty of water
2 1/5C chicken stock
1/2 C coconut milk
1 green onion or 1 bunch of scallions
1 little branch of cauliflower
olive oil
garlic, salt, pepper, thyme, ginger

carrot ginger soup ingredients

Chop the carrots, throw them in a pot and cover with water.
Put on the stove to boil until just tender.
Remove from the stove and drain BE SURE to save 1 C of the water.
Put the carrots, reserved water, and chicken broth into the pan and puree with an immersion blender (or do this in a food processor).
Chop the onion, garlic, and cauliflower finely and saute in olive oil. I used roasted garlic cloves because I have them on hand!
Throw the sauted stuff into the soup. I like a little chunkiness in my pureed soups. If you don’t, you should puree these bits too.
Dump in the coconut milk, 1/2 Tbsp salt, 2 tsp ginger, 1/2 tsp thyme. Add pepper (and more salt?) to taste.

carrot ginger close up

I’m eating this soup with irish soda bread (using the recipe from the Joy of Cooking) I highly recommend it!

carrot ginger soup

*Which means you can expect more mediocre food photography. Because it’s always dark by the time I eat.

6 responses to “soup and bread

  1. I love soup and bread Thursday!

  2. what is the function of the coconut milk? Would regular milk be okay?

  3. Fantastic! Looking forward to these! (My Joy of Cooking is so beaten up after 20 years it’s lost half the spine, but those recipes are timeless!!)

Leave a Reply

