Ramble on…

If you’ve been reading for any amount of time you’ve probably heard me mention on and off how I’m working on improving my photography. Well this last year I feel like I’ve made some major improvements! And with the gift giving season coming up I was thinking it’d be fun to share some of my work with my family. One thing lead to another, and I ended up designing a little calendar:

Calender cover

I’m actually pretty proud of this. I only started using the fancy layout software last spring. This calendar projects was a fun thing that combined my new layout skills and my new photography skills and I think the whole thing came out really well.

calender sample spread

Each month has a feature photo and a little photo. The calendar includes all the standard bits: previews of last month and next month, holidays, phases of the moon…

calender back page

The content is more of what you see here, there’s knitting and some other crafts, views from around Vermont, from my garden, and even some chickens!

And since I’m using MagCloud to print some copies for gifts it’s easy for me to make the calender available to you as well. If you’d like a little sampler of Vermont to hang on your wall click on over and help yourself!

7 responses to “Ramble on…

  1. oh, very exciting! #can’twaitforChristmas

  2. The calander looks beautiful, Becky! I bought one. Are there any greyhounds on it? ;-)

    • First, thank you!!

      Sadly no greyhounds. In fact, even my own dogs aren’t featured… If I do this again next year maybe I’ll include them!

      There should be a preview feature on MagCloud that will let you see each of the pages.

  3. What a great gift idea! My folks would love us to make them one – I may have to go poke around and look at MagCloud myself!

    • You should! The magcloud process is really easy. The only trick is I couldn’t find a calender template through them (they have one listed, but it appears to be only in hard copy, which is confusing…) so you have to do a lot of layout or find a 3rd party template for the squares, holidays, etc…

      The other thing that tripped me up is that even though calendars are 8.5×11 landscape you need to upload them in portrait layout. If you upload in a landscape layout MagCloud assumes you want the binding on the 8.5″ side. I spent more time than I care to admit figuring that trick out…

  4. Love it! I bought one too… thoroughly enjoy your blog. I’ve learned a lot from you as I navigate my own way through life as a transplant Vermonter (10 years in March). I’m especially looking forward to your book. Cheers and keep up the great work!!

Leave a Reply

