Cheesy corn bread

Well here’s a classic! Good old chicken noodle soup. This version is mostly-local with my home grown chicken, broth and sweet corn as well as carrots and onions bought from the farm just down the street. The pasta comes from the grocery store.

I like to saute the onions and carrots in chicken schmaltz (or olive oil) first. Then dump those into the broth and chicken. I used to freeze the broth and chicken. But this year I canned* it and I’m pretty happy to have the extra freezer space!

chicken noodle soup

Then I add the seasonings. Again, this is a classic – rosemary, thyme, salt, pepper, maybe some garlic.

The only real choice in my mind is the starch. Which do you prefer? Potatoes, rice, or noodles in soup? I’m an equal opportunity soup person, but tonight it’s noodles. I like the little bite-sized ones best.

And tonight’s bread is a quick cheesy corn bread. That I made up as I went along. I was following the recipe from Joy of cooking, but I used more flour because I wanted the bread to be less crumbly. Then I didn’t have any milk so I started to think about what it’d need if I used water instead. And suddenly it looks nothing like the original recipe.

cheesy corn bread

So I’m giving you my version. I’m not sure why you’d need a no-milk quick bread that still includes eggs, butter, and cheese. It’s not like it’s vegan or anything. But hey! This was moist and delicious and the chutney gives it a great depth of flavor (if you happen to have chutney on hand) so maybe you’ll try this version anyway:

Spur of the Moment No-Milk Corn Bread

Ingredients
1C yellow corn meal
1C white whole wheat flour (King Arthur’s makes it and it’s delicious!)
4Tbsp sugar
2tsp baking powder
1/2tsp baking soda
1/2tsp salt
4Tbsp melted butter
3Tbsp veggie oil
3Tbsp apple chutney (or apple sauce, but it’s got less flavor)
2 eggs
1C water
1/4C grated hard cheese (I used parmegean, cheddar would doubtless be amazing too)
1/4C sweet corn (fresh or frozen, I only have frozen this time of year)

Directions
Pre-heat the oven to 350F. Grease a baking dish (9×9 square, muffin tins, etc…)
Put all your dry ingredients into a big mixing bowl and mix thoroughly.
In a smaller bowl melt the butter, then whisk in the oil. (Yes there’s a lot of fat, that’s because there’s no fat in the milk that I’m not adding.)
Next whisk in the apple chutney/sauce and the eggs.
Once that’s all thoroughly mixed add the water. And (you guessed it) whisk some more.
Finally add the cheese and sweet corn and mix.
Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and gently mix just until everything is barely combined.
Pour the batter into the baking dish or muffin tins or whatever. Pop it into the oven. I baked mine for just 12 minutes, if you use a 9×9 pan you might need more like 20 minutes.

*Ok, technically I’m typing this while I listen to the pressure canner rattle. But since I don’t have room in my freezer for these jars of soup-base I can already say I’m pretty happy with the choice.

Leave a Reply

