apple sausage soup and cheesy bread

I was feeling stumped for soup yesterday, so I wandered around the grocery store looking for possible soup ingredients. For a meal without a plan this one came together excellently well! It’s cheesy and herby and savory and delicious. That’s exactly what soup and bread night should be.

sausage apple soup

I used apple sausage in my soup but I suspect regular sausage would be just fine. Likewise I used squash, but I suspect carrots or sweet potatoes would be good too. Finally, when you’re selecting apples pick a variety that will hold its shape pretty well once cooked. Brown the sausage with some onion and garlic in butter. Toss in some flour to soak up the extra fat, push it all around and add the chicken broth. Toss in the diced squash and whatever spices you like (I used sage, thyme, and fines herbs from penzeys.) When the squash is cooked add cheese tortellini and peeled, diced apple. Cook ’till the pasta is done, and serve!

This cheesy bread is the real winner though. It is light, fluffy, and has THREE kinds of cheese! How could you go wrong?

Ingredients
1.5 C flour (I used 1C all purpose and 1/2C of white whole wheat from King Arthur’s. This flour has amazing flavor, and isn’t heavy like regular whole wheat*)
2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/4 t baking soda

1/2 C grated cheddar cheese
1/4 C chopped green onion (or scallions)
1 T fines herbs (chervil, parsley, chives, and tarragon)

1 egg
1/2 C cream cheese or marscapone
1 C milk
3 T butter, melted
1 T grated parmesan

cheesy bread

Preheat the oven to 350F and grease a 9×9 baking dish.
Whisk together all those dry ingredients in the first section.
Next toss in the cheese, onions, and herbs so they’re coated with the flour mix.
Finally whisk the soft cheese and butter, mix in the egg and milk. Fold this into the dry ingredients and pour it into the pan. Sprinkle the parmesan on top and pop it into the oven for 20-25 minutes (until the toothpick comes out clean, you know the drill)

sausage apple soup and cheesy bread

*two product placements in a single post! Craziness. I feel like I should say neither of these companies even know I exist, I link them here because I like them.

Leave a Reply

