hot chocolate

I made the most awesome hot chocolate the other day. I would have gone with regular hot chocolate out of a package, but we didn’t have any. I’d just come home from running errands and didn’t want to get right back in my car, so I dug through my kitchen pantry instead.

hot chocolate ing

That’s how I ended up adding nutmeg and cinnamon to my hot chocolate. And it was amazing!

Ingredients
3 c milk
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
3 T honey
5 T cocoa powder

Put the milk over medium heat (you want it simmering, but not boiling) add the honey, cinnamon and nutmeg and let the flavors steep together*.

Add the cocoa powder and whisk everything together until it’s smooth. Pour the cocoa gently, some of the spices may have settled to the bottom and these can be left behind. This is fine because you steeped the flavor into the milk earlier.

hot chocolate

*Yeah, I didn’t sit around and let things steep. I went upstairs to put laundry away and forgot about the cocoa. Same difference.

Leave a Reply

