personal care

It was finally time for more home made deodorant. Yup, you read that right. I’ve been using this stuff for years, and you know what? It’s awesome. I’m not just using it because I dislike excess chemicals in my life. I use it because it works BETTER than anything I’ve ever tried from the store.

Some people don’t really smell when they sweat – lucky folks. I am not one of those people. I find in the summer time (when I’m hiking or mucking out the chicken coop) store bought stuff eventually smells kinda sour. Maybe better than sweaty, but still stinky.

home made deodorant

This stuff doesn’t smell at all. It has essential oils added to mask the shea butter scent. But those fade after application, and then there’s no smell at all. Even in the summer, even when I sweat: No. Smells.

You know why I think that is? It’s mostly baking soda. If baking soda can remove the stink from the back of the fridge, why not from my arm pits too? Along with baking soda and shea butter there’s cocoa butter, cornstarch, vitamin E, and your favorite collection of essential oils. Lavender and tea tree smell like “clean” to me. Last time we balanced a lot of blends out with rosewood. This time I used a oil based perfume that wasn’t smelly enough for me to use it all the time.

Experiment, go with what works, have fun! But seriously, try this stuff because it’s amazing. I’ve never tweaked the base formula from what Angry Chicken recommends because it works so well. But she has some other links if this base isn’t the best for you. I imagine since each body is different that different deodorant recipes work for each of us.

5 responses to “personal care

  1. That’s so great! I bookmarked a different blog with a deodorant recipe months ago and haven’t gotten around to sourcing the ingredients. My current deodorant is fine, but sometimes I need a reapplication around mid-afternoon. I am definitely not one of those people who don’t smell!

  2. I am so glad I gave it to you so many years ago and you loved it!

  3. Sally Wilkins (aka Mom)

    I’m glad, too, because I used up what Becky gave me and then made my own, and it makes me not only less-smelly but more-happy. When you’re a cancer survivor, reducing the amount of chemicals you put into your body (either orally or transdermally) seems like a very good idea. But as Becky points out, when the “made of stuff I can pronounce” version also works better . . . Score!

Leave a Reply

