chicken and sweet corn

I learned this soup is a real thing when I was googling around the internet looking for soups I could make with my leftover chicken that didn’t involve noodles and carrots… This soup is pretty different from most of what I’ve made. It came out really well (even Neil agrees) so hopefully we’ll branch out again for soup and bread night!

Ingredients
4 scallions, minced
1 clove garlic, minced
1T olive oil* 1T ginger, 1/2tsp white pepper, 1/4tsp each lemongrass and coriander**
2C chicken broth
1.5C shredded chicken
1.5C sweet corn in broth, or creamed corn
2T soy sauce
3T corn starch in 1/4C cold water
1 egg
1T lemon juice

chicken sweetcorn soup

I started by mincing, chopping, whisking, and otherwise prepping all the bits. Whisk the lemon juice into the egg. Whisk the corn starch into the cold water. Mince all the minced things, shred the chicken. If you don’t have leftover chicken start by cooking that too!

Heat the olive oil over high, toss in the garlic, scallions, and all the spices. Cook for just 2-3 minutes, then add the broth, chicken, corn, and soy sauce. If the broth is already salted you should probably cut back on the soy sauce.

When the soup comes up to a full boil whisk in the corn starch slurry and keep whisking until it thickens. Next turn it down to a low simmer and slowly stir in the egg so it forms strands. The whole process only took about 30 minutes, which is great for an after work meal!

chicken sweetcorn soup2

The internet tells me this soup is from asia – either india or china depending on the web site. But I feel the need to point out that corn didn’t come over from the americas until the 1500’s give or take 100 years… But it’s ok – it’s still a very tasty soup!

*This should probably be peanut oil, but I work with what I have on hand.
**Add more ginger if you like your sweet and sour soups with more bite. I readily admit I’m not good at any kind of spiciness.

3 responses to “chicken and sweet corn

  1. I’ve never been completely sold on egg in soup, but this looks good enough to try!

Leave a Reply

