squares

According to ravelry I started this project in March of 2009. It’s a sock yarn blanket… It’s knit with scraps of sock yarn, each square built off the last so there’s no seaming.

blanket squares

For some reason I decided knitting a queen sized blanket on US2 needles seemed like a brilliant plan. At the rate I’m going (it’s gone to deep hibernation 3 times already) I won’t finish before I die.

blanket squares3

But I keep plugging away. I’ve been working the starting tails into each square as I go. Recently I started working the tail of the last square into the base of the next one. Which means I don’t have any ends to weave in. Well, except for the 200 ends of the first 200 squares.

blanket squares2

I’ve knit approximately 286 squares so far, and this thing is decent sized stole. I’m considering blocking it out, just to see how tall the stockinette squares become after that. My reason is so I can accurately predict how many YEARS it’ll take to finish if I knit just one square a day…

7 responses to “squares

  1. I’m so glad you blogged about this blanket. I’ve been considering starting one for years. It’s a good thing I haven’t. I’m much older than you so I could never finish it…much like my stash!

  2. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll finish…eventually.

  3. Well, firstly: Oh, my gosh, I love it! It’s gorgeous!
    Secondly: Oh, my gosh, were you suffering from a bout of temporary insanity when you planned this?! ;-). I bow to your tenacity to have gotten this far! Truly you are Knitter with a capital K.

  4. Sally Wilkins (aka Mom)

    lap blankets are so useful . . .

  5. It’s so pretty! I’ve been contemplating starting one of those sock yarn blankets with the little puffy hexagons… but that would probably take even longer, plus there’s no way to avoid seaming! Maybe I’ll rethink that plan…

    • Well, I think they avoid weaving in ends by pulling them inside the hexagons. And I’ve seen a few that are tied together like old fashioned quilts…

      But there’s still twice as much knitting because those hexagons have two sides!

Leave a Reply

