sweet raisin muffins

This is was one of those times when I swear I was just going to follow the recipe. But then I didn’t have any yogurt, so I was going to need to sub in milk. And Then I thought some raisins would improve the muffins. And since I was adding raisins anyway, what if I just changed up the spices too? And they called for molasses and brown sugar. And seriously? Brown sugar is generally just white sugar with molasses stirred into it… I suck at following recipes as written – almost as much as I suck at following knitting patterns as written.

Sweet Raisin muffins are a riff off the sweet wheat muffins in Joy of Cooking. The recipe may include whole wheat and raisins, but there’s enough sugar to keep them from being bland. Also I’m using that white whole wheat flour from King Arthur’s again. I love that stuff…

sweet raisin dry ingredients

Ingredients
1.5 C white whole wheat flour
1 C all purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 C milk
1/2 C molasses
1/4 C sugar
1/4 C veggie oil
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 C raisins

Preheat the oven to 375F and line, grease (whatever) your muffin tins. This should make 12 normal sized muffins, which I think is 36 mini muffins? I made a tray of each because I don’t have two trays to make all one or all the other…
Whisk together the two flours, baking powder, baking soda, and spices.
In a second bowl whisk together the egg, milk, molasses, sugar and veggie oil. Once those are combined add the raisins and lemon juice.
Now fold in the flour one half at a time, mixing until everything is just blended.

This batter is a little thicker than some muffin/quick bread batters. I used a big soup spoon to scoop it into the muffin tins, aiming to make each one about 2/3rds full.

Pop the muffins into the oven, 10ish minutes for the minis and closer to 15 for full sized muffins. You can check them with the standard toothpick in the middle trick. If it comes out clean their done!

sweet raisin muffin close up

Done, and tasty.

4 responses to “sweet raisin muffins

  1. I love white whole wheat flour! It makes great 100% whole wheat pie crusts.

  2. Those look fantastic! I love anything baked.

    (And I was laughing as soon as I read the first sentence of your post. I SO saw where this was going…….)

  3. I made carrot muffins last night that were really good. Basically the same recipe as yours, just add a cup to a cup and a half of grated carrot, and some chopped walnuts. I use an ice cream scoop to portion out the batter – helps me get equal(er) amounts in each cup.
    And I’m like you in following recipes… 8)

Leave a Reply

