Corn Chowder

I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to get to this soup! Back in August when I was freezing sweet corn I made several packages with the sweet corn frozen into the blanching broth specifically for use in soups and chowders! I’m excited that it is February and we’re still eating corn, broccoli, green beans, and tomato sauce I put up last summer. Along with the squashes and carrots I purchased for storage we haven’t had to buy any veggies. Occasionally we’ll buy salad mix, or something like chives if we need them for a specific recipe. But not NEEDING to buy veggies in February? I think it’s very cool.

Corn Chowder
Ingredients
2 pieces of bacon or a small bit of ham (better yet, the ends of the bacon or ham – they’re often cheaper and have more flavor)
1 small onion
4 yukon gold potatoes
1 small carrot
1T flour
3C corn frozen in broth (or 3C corn, and 1C water or broth)
1.5C milk, or 1C heavy cream
bay leaf, rosemary, white pepper, savory, salt, whatever spices you like.

corn chowder ingredients

Start by chopping up the meat and onion very small. Throw the meat in the bottom of the soup pot and cook on medium heat until it’s just crispy and the fat has coated the bottom of the pan. You probably want about 2T of fat total (if you’re using butter or something). Throw in the onions and the carrots next and cook until the onions are translucent. The carrots will still be pretty hard but that’s ok. Add the flour and whisk it around in the bottom so it absorbs the extra fat.
Next add the corn with the broth/water and those cubed potatoes. I added enough water here to just barely cover the potatoes. Most of it simmered away while the potatoes cooked. Throw in whatever spices you like best. I went with 1 bay leaf, 1/2T salt, and ~1/2tsp of pepper, and some green herbs (rosemary and savory are the two I remember)
Once everything has simmered for about 30 minutes add the milk. I used milk, you could use heavy cream if you prefer, I’m sure it’d be delicious but I didn’t have any on hand. Leave it on the heat until it’s hot but don’t boil it now. Adjust the seasonings until you’re happy and enjoy!

corn chowder

Today’s corn chowder wasn’t served with any bread. I’ve purchased a little half sized bread loaf pan so I can make half batches of bread. With bread and soup happening every week we frequently have leftover quick breads that start to get moldy before we can eat it all. That makes for a sad Becky, so smaller loaves seem like the best way to avoid the problem!
All that being said? Tonight we just had dessert instead.

6 responses to “Corn Chowder

  1. Leftover quick bread? Heresy! I can eat an entire loaf by myself (we call it muffin bread).

    • Muffin bread- yes that’s exactly right! The sweet ones I’ll eat for breakfast, but if I’ve made cheesy bread or beer bread (both go so well with soup) they don’t get eaten as fast.

  2. Ok, so this place that where usually get soup for lunch (homemade and vegetarian), was offering corn chowder on Monday and I opted for grilled cheese instead because it made me think of creamed corn, which made me think of old people.

    Is corn chowder at all like creamed corn??

    • It probably depends on who has made the corn chowder! I use frozen sweet corn which is not mushy like creamed corn. And I don’t cook it for very long, just until the potatoes are tender. So my corn chowder isn’t like creamed corn at all. It’s just lot and lots of corn kernels in a potato and milk based chowder.

  3. You are having a frightful winter by all I read Becky. Here we are having the hottest summer in Canterbury in New Zealand since the 1940’s apparently which is divine. However, the thought of winter is quite frightening as so often we follow the pattern of weather in the Northern Hemisphere so this could be a bad winter ahead of us therefore. Scary when you live your life on crutches and when it snows even though I have a ramp for access, I am housebound till the snow [and the ice that follows] is gone cause my crutches need crampons to stop them slipping.
    Anyway your corn chowder sounds delicious so I am saving that recipe of yours thank you. We are eating our corn fresh here at the moment and it is just so lovely and soon it will be time to prepare some for our winter. I am wondering if I should try preserving some in my preserving machine for soups/chowders and fritters. I have never done corn but I am sure I will manage to do it. My daughter has my dehydrator and I hope I may be lucky enough to prise it loose from her sticky fingers
    I have a question for you please. You say “Along with the squashes and carrots I purchased for storage “ how and where do you store these please and does this include potatoes? What about those horrid rodents starting with house mouse size and up. We simply used to store harvested vegetables as these on a shelf or in a sack in the shed and had no problems with them but now rodents are a real problem. I would welcome any info you can pass along please.
    I have had a couple of nasty falls and can’t knit and it is very frustrating. Well, I tried, but apart from the pain [fractured bones in hand first fall and muscles/tendons from shoulder down th fingers in the second ….sigh…horrid] anyway it has affected my tension badly so I undid it and am p;aying the waiting game. Though I have treated myself [because I couldn’t knit lol] and purchased some natural creamy mohair and silk yarn to knit a longer cardigan sort of jacket in a feather and fan pattern I found in Ravelry when I went looking for a garment to knit with this yarn. I am so looking forward to being able to knit my swatch though I must finish my granddaughter’s bolero in Raspberry Merino first as soon as my tension is back to normal.
    I look forward to your reply re storage!

    • I actually don’t think this winter has been too horrible, it’s been pretty average for northern Vermont. Of course everything is scarier when you have to navigate on crutches! I hope you’re taking good care of yourself, give yourself time to heal.

      So far I think I’m just lucky about the rodents. We store all our root veggies and squash in the spare bedroom. It’s far away from the wood stove, and we never put in the storm window last fall so with the door shut it stays about 10 degrees cooler in there.

      Of course we do have two house cats, so they probably help keep the indoor mice at bay. Them, plus the veggies being on the second floor instead of in the basement, are probably the two biggest reasons we don’t have to worry about rodents.

      If your unit can do soup it can definitely do corn! Check the processing times though, the length of time for corn is surprisingly long.

Leave a Reply

