barley, oats, and more

Tonight’s soup and bread combo really pulled together into a delicious meal. Something about the oats in the bread and the barley in the soup complemented each other so nicely.

I made a mushroom barley soup combining both fresh portabellas and some dried mushrooms from a blend:

mushroom soup

The dried mushrooms had to be re-hydrated first. I was worried about them being mushy. But in the final soup they were more firm than the fresh mushrooms! I cooked the barley separately first so that I didn’t over-cook the mushrooms and in retrospect I think that was unnecessary… Anyway, cooked barley, sauteed mushrooms (stems first, then add the caps later), carrots, and onions went into the soup pot with beef broth and spices. Basic and tasty, just like so many other soups.

The milk & honey bread I made is so good you can be certain I’ll be doing this one again! I used my little half-loaf pan and I’m going to wish that I had more, I can tell already. I’m listing the ingredients for a regular 4×9″ pan though, so you don’t need to do any math.

Ingredients
1.5C flour
1C oats
2tsp baking powder
1tsp baking soda
1/4tsp salt
1 large egg
1/2C honey
1/4C sugar
1/4C veggie oil
2/3C milk

mushroom soup and bread

Preheat the oven to 350F and grease your bread loaf pan.
Whisk together the flour, oats, levening, and salt.
In a separate bowl whisk together the egg, honey, sugar, and oil.
Now fold the liquid ingredients and the milk into the flour mix just until everything is mixed.
Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 40-50 minutes. I baked the little loaf for 35, I don’t think you’ll need too much more time than what I’ve listed for a full sized one.

The bread darkens significantly because of the honey. The light oaty sweetness of it contrasts with the dark, rich flavor of the mushroom and barley soup just perfectly for a late winter night.

7 responses to “barley, oats, and more

  1. YUM! Thank you for sharing all of your soup recipes. I just love soup so much, particularly this time of year!

  2. A yummy way for none of the mushrooms to get soggy is roast them first! I love roasted mushroom barley soup.

  3. Mmm… Craving… Did you chop the mushrooms before rehydrating? I’ve never used dehydrated mushrooms before but always wanted to.

    • The dehydrated mushrooms were roughly chopped in the container, but they were so brittle I soaked them first, then chopped them. I don’t know if it’s true for all dried mushrooms, but these ones included directions to rinse them, rehydrate in hot hot water, then rinse again… THEN throw them into soups and cook them. So I chopped them once they were softened.

  4. That bread looks like exactly what I need for the cold windy weekend they are promising. Regular-cooking oats, and white flour or whole wheat?

Leave a Reply

