Potato Leek Soup

Here’s another soup I’m kinda shocked hasn’t already happened. Potato leek soup is a classic for winter right? Well it is TIME to use up the potatoes around here

potato leek soup

Last October I bought 100lbs of organic potatoes from the farm down the street. Well, it turns out if you store your potatoes at a (relatively toasty) 60F they’ll decide it’s sprouting time in March. They’re still tasty*, just a little bit wrinkly…

Combined with leeks, this is a very simple soup, but the depth of flavor would never give that away

potato leek soup prep

Ingredients
6 small-medium yukon gold potatoes
2 large leeks
4C chicken stock
1C milk
2T olive oil
2T butter
bay leaf, savory, rosemary, thyme, salt, and pepper

In your big soup pot melt the olive oil and butter together. Cut off the leek leaves, slice the root in half and then cut into slivers. Throw this in the hot fat with a dash of salt and pepper and leave over medium heat for 8-10 minutes.
While the leeks are cooking peel and chop the potatoes. Throw them in with the leeks, add the chicken stock, and the herbs and spices. I think I used somewhere between 1/2tsp and 1tsp of each…
Bring the mix up to a boil, turn it down to a simmer, and leave it be until the potatoes are tender.
Remove the pot from the heat, and puree about half the mixture. I used an immersion blender here. You can use whatever you have on hand (blender, food mill, food processor, etc…) You can puree more or less, depending on how chunky you want your soup.
Put the pot back over low heat, add the milk, and adjust the spices to taste. If you pureed most of the potatoes you might need to add a little more liquid to get the right consistency.

potato leek soup time

Potato leek soup is delicious, but it’s hard to photograph… The leek greens helped the picture (I think). This is a thick soup, so we ate it with salad, instead of bread.

*years past Neil and I have had the experience of eating the last wrinkly potatoes in march, buying some nice looking organic spuds at the grocery store, and then being HUGELY disappointed that the new-looking ones were still less flavorful than the ugly ones we’d finally used up…

7 responses to “Potato Leek Soup

  1. I’ve done test/model knitting for Skacel and Angela Juergens and right now have no big projects in the works. I’m in Washington state if that makes a difference. Please let me know if I can be of assistance to you. My Ravelry name is azaleaknitter if you’d like to see my projects.

  2. So true about the potatoes – a neighbor gave us a big bag of his homegrown mountain potatoes earlier this winter, and even wrinkly and sprouting a bit like they are now they taste worlds better than anything from the store. We had only ever eaten store-bought potatoes (my attempts at growing them organically a couple years ago failed miserably thanks to nasty grubs and a wet summer), but after this we’ll never go back. I told him I’d pay him to grow us more for next winter. ;-) (And I think this might be the year I finally remember to pursue a CSA share or two before the deadline passes – yaaaaay for local, organic produce!)

    • yes, we get potato bugs that make it hard to grow them ourselves. I have no idea what the organic guy down the street is doing to control the bugs at his place – but I’m happy to buy from him! Besides, we eat a lot of potatoes. Growing my own would mean a much bigger garden…

      • Too true! That year I tried growing them I had them in my flowerbed/regular landscaping because my garden just didn’t have the space. Some random plants still pop up occasionally in that spot, so last year we got about a handful of new potatoes when we weeded. LOL. So glad I don’t have to grow my own!

  3. We still have volunteer potatoes growing in our garden every year, despite not having planted potatoes for about 4 years.
    The only thing we ever found that worked against potato bugs was hand-picking them and squishing. *Daily*. Luckily the eggs are bright orange and the larva are bright red – making them easy to spot.

  4. We had the potato bugs a couple of years ago– Colorado Potato Beetles. A spray made for them specifically saved our crop that year, but we were told to leave the land alone the following year, so we moved them to a different spot. Was worth it, as our potatoes are also wrinkly. I mean, tasty. And wrinkly.

    • I feel like I’m starting some kind of a wrinkly potato appreciation club! I shared some of my wrinkly spuds with family the other day and everyone seemed to enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

