Garden winners and losers

Have you heard? It’s been a little rainy here. It’s rained and rained andrainedandrainedandrainedandrainedandrainedandrainedandrainedandrained. Now usually gardeners don’t complain about rain. But we had the seconded wettest june EVER on record. And it turns out that almost 10 inches of rain in 30 days isn’t great for some parts of my garden…

The biggest losers? The carrots and beets. I planted them back at the end of May and they never germinated. It went from cold and damp to hot, humid, and wet. The seed rotted in the ground. Neil hoed those rows under for me last weekend. If this rain ever lets up July is a great time to plant carrots and beets for fall harvest. If. The. Rain. Ever. Lets. Up.

The other big loser are the leeks. They were planted early, but stay pretty small at first. Weeding the grass from around the leeks turned out to be impossible. Since I couldn’t let the crab grass go to seed that whole row is gone too…

Even my lettuces are struggling. They came up early and we’ve been enjoying super-mega-salads with dinner every night for weeks. But 3/4’s of the way through June we realized that the loose leaf lettuce plants were funneling water right to the base of the stem. Some of the plants got so wet they’re rotted away… Quick! Eat more lettuce so we can thin the rows out faster!

Want some winners? I certainly do after all those depressing losses. How about some garlic and snap peas?

peas and garlic

I’ve got PLENTY of both! The garlic is thriving with all this water. And I’ve never seen the dwarf snap peas this tall. They’re actually an even bigger success just because they exist. I took a risk planting them extra early this season. Because I did they germinated before the rain started. No one has any snap peas at the farmers’ markets this year, and when I asked why they told me it is because the ground is too wet for the seed to germinate. Right.

It’s too early to call anything else. The beans managed to germinate in spite of the soggy ground. Squashes just went into the ground. Small, but at least starting them inside means they germinated. Could be a good year for them (hot, lots of water) but only if I can keep the squash bugs at bay. I’m armed with organic pesticide (first time I’ve tried it) but I haven’t applied any yet because it has to be reapplied after heavy rain. Right.

9 responses to “Garden winners and losers

  1. I heard this morning that northern Illinois has had the wettest first half of the year since they’ve been keeping records. What a change from last year!

  2. It’s easy to kvetch about my own losses this year– various plantings of this or that didn’t make it– but we’ve had nowhere NEAR as much rain as you, and my crops are mostly (fingers crossed) ok. But that part about the pesticide rang true, true, true, as I peered at the clouds and decided to chance applying weed spray (vinegar & dish soap) this afternoon.

  3. That’s to bad that you’ve lost so much. We’ve had the exact opposite weather – – HOT and DRY. Even my heat loving crops are scortched.

  4. Sounds like here in my town! Seven years of drought conditions and now just in this spring we’ve gotten so much rain the water tables are already back to normal levels. It’s wreaked havoc on the farmers – of COURSE this is the year I decided to get CSA shares and so far the harvests have been slim pickings. Garlic scapes are about the only thing that’s exceeded expectations! Hope you get some nice hot sunshine soon to dry things out a bit and make your plants happy. :-)

  5. So.. it rained? :)

    I should send you pics of my poor dehydrated peas. Between the heat and the high desert “humidity” (or lack thereof), I think probably they are not meant to live here.

  6. Yeah, the rain has been awful, hasn’t it? Our beans and corn rotted in the ground. I think out of 4 rows of corn, only 3 seeds lived to germinate, and we’re *still* waiting for the beans. (Though without hope…) Our lettuce went in later than yours and has done poorly, and now it’s starting to rot, too.
    *sigh*
    But we might get some peas. Cross your fingers.

    • My beans had a lousy germination rate (well, for bush beans anyway) but I’m still shocked that they came up at all. My garden is EXTREMELY well drained, but that doesn’t do anything for the poor lettuce plants.

      I’m hoping to plant more lettuce the same time I re-plant the carrots and beets. But I’m holding off until the forecast gives at least a vague promise of this weather cycle breaking. Sounds like a storm might blow in from the west sometime next week (with more rain) but also a chance of breaking the cycle…

Leave a Reply

