Benign? Neglect

I’m three weekends in to a 5 weekend stretch where I have NO free time, and it’s really starting to show in the garden. Neil joined me for 20 minutes yesterday evening when we got home from NH. We mostly focused on pulling the grass that was about to go to seed… Neil’s going to get in there with a hoe and some more dedication today.

In the mean time, does anyone know when shallots are ready to harvest? When I planted them this spring I thought they were a fall crop. But these guys look about ready to leap out of the soil and proclaim themselves done.

shallots

Don’t mind the grass…

You know what does REALLY well under benign neglect? Black-eyed Susans. At least something in my yard is thriving!

black eyed susans

Leave a Reply

