lime and mint pickles

Neil and I had an actual weekend at home – one with NO commitments. This was the first time in, um, over a month… You could tell we were ready for this down time by how much we didn’t spend it sitting down. We made ourselves giant fancy breakfasts and marinated things for hours before cooking dinner. I did some serious veggie garden maintenance and Neil took care of the rest of the yard. We went yard-sale-ing and picked blackberries. The dogs got long walks, and we even did a short hike.

I finally had time to make up a batch of these lime and mint refrigerator pickles that Bristol shared.

pickle ingredients

My version is only a little different from hers. I think. I mean, cucumber size can vary greatly, and I didn’t us a jicama because they just don’t have those at the farmer’s market around here. Otherwise they’re exactly the same!

Bring to a simmer:
1 1/4C water
1 1/4C white vinegar
2/3C white sugar
1 T salt
1 T mustard seeds

While that’s going slice and chop:
3 small pickling cucumbers, sliced into rounds
1 green onion, sliced as thinly as you can
1 lime, quartered and sliced
4 sprigs fresh mint, chopped coarsely

pickle ing chopped

Layer the ingredients into a quart jar, I divided everything in thirds and just dumped them into the jar in layers. I think a heat tolerant jar is a really good idea… Because next you pour the hot liquid over everything. Close up the jar, and when it’s cool enough to touch shake it a few times. Put it in the fridge and wait patiently for at least 24 hours.

I have no idea how long these will last, but I don’t think they’ll be around long enough for that to matter!

pickles

One response to “lime and mint pickles

  1. I LOVE pickles – I think I may have to put these on the short list to try. I’ve got tons of mint right now.

Leave a Reply

