rookie mistake

My house has a complete roof again, so that’s nice. The siding is being stained and painted (before it’s delivered, hooray!)

In the mean time, I’m working on a more yarny project:

2014-07-08_11-11-45

This is my skein of Periwinkle Sheep’s Wink yarn (with silver sparkle!) And I’m working up a slightly modified (gasp) version of Jovia by Corrina Ferguson. It’s a little garter-stitch-and-lace crescent shawl. The pattern calls for DK weight yarn, but I wanted to use fingering. Everything was going smoothly until I “finished” the garter stitch body and it was about 3 inches tall.

I have only myself to blame, since I did neither a gauge swatch, nor math, before starting. Turns out sizes change when you change gauge (shocker). I maybe should have considered that, right? I could have cast on more stitches, worked more short rows, and avoided ending up in this pickle.

Instead I’m randomly working a bunch of increases at each edge every row to continue the general feel and shape of the shawlette. I hope. When I feel like I’ve used up enough yarn I’ll start the lace. The big question is when to start the lace so I’ll still have enough yarn left – but without ending up with lots of extra yarn.

I could probably do more math, but if you think that’s unlikely you’re probably right. What could go wrong?

Leave a Reply

