Jelly

Remember those frozen grapes?

berries

They weren’t the focus of that post or of that photo. But they’re back! For this jelly I put the grapes through the squeeze-o, so it’s somewhere between a jam and a jelly. After all that work I left the juice in the fridge for almost a week… That wasn’t part of plant but it turned out okay.

grape jelly jars

When I finally found time to make jam I started looking for recipes and discovered that I maybe shouldn’t have added water to the squeezo to get all the pulp through (reason #2 this is somewhere between jam and jelly) So I kinda had to make things up as I went along… So, 1 quart of pulp/juice/water, plus 2 cups of sugar. (a bit of a guess, but it seemed a safe amount because that’s about how much puree I had originally.) The pectin was the real trick, turns out buying it in bulk means I never know how much to use when recipes always call for “1 packet.” So I guessed (are you sensing a theme?) and added 3 tablespoons.

grape jelly bubbling

But it worked! After about 10 minutes of boiling we had a successful crinkle test. And once in jars the jam set up gorgeously. It’s a deep purple, sweet and a little spicy from the who-knows-what grapes. It’s not crystal clear, I won’t be winning any awards at the fair for this jelly. But in flavor? It’s perfect.

grape jelly

Leave a Reply

