Blueberry Sage jam

I’ve made another batch of freezer jam. This time I used blueberries we picked earlier this month. But then we went camping, and they got squished in the cooler. So I tossed them into the freezer for “later.”

blueberry jam 1

I’m glad later came this month, instead of next year! Again I just made up the recipe. Apparently having a baby makes me even MORE unable to follow directions… I mixed the blueberries and sugar: three cups of each. And then I let them sit in the fridge for a week. (I swear, I’m not doing this every time on purpose) Finally I cooked them down, tossed in some pectin, and some sage. That last bit was Neil’s idea – and it’s brilliant! Sage complements the blueberries perfectly, earthy and just a little green bitterness to counteract the sweet, fruity blueberry. I used 1.5 tsp for the 3 cups of berries and I highly recommend it! But possibly you should follow an actual recipe. This jam is delightful, but it never quite set up…

blueberry jam 2

2 responses to “Blueberry Sage jam

  1. Oh, that sounds delicious! Did you use fresh sage or dried? I have two enormous bush-sized sage plants I’d love to put to good use…

    • I just used dried sage. But fresh would probably be better! You could mince it up small and leave the flecks of green studding the jam. Or you could put it in a tea diffuser or a bit of cheesecloth and let the flavors steep out while cooking the jam.

      On Fri, Aug 29, 2014 at 2:47 PM, Ramblings wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

